/ Carry Concealed Weapon
- Steps to Obtaining a CCW Permit
To download the gun class schedules of local organizations, click here.
- Applicant must take a certifying class consisting of not less than
16 hours of instruction in both the California State Laws and safe
handling and discharging of a firearm.
- Available places to get certification classes are
The Mendocino Community College - class 832
Ray Higbee at (707) 744-1261
John Holder (707) 489-3380
- Redwood Practical Shooters online at www.redwoodpracticalshooters.org or call Don Miller at (707) 964-0803.
- After completing the class you should be supplied by the instructors
with the Department Of Justice CCW application form and your certificate.
You may bring the completed application including section 7, but unsigned
to any of the Sheriff Offices located in Fort Bragg and Ukiah.
You will also need to bring your ID, a copy of your DD214 (if you served
in the military) and $45.00 cash or check for the application fee.
- Your application will be sent to a lieutenant in your area. He will
contact you for an interview. After your interview allow approximately
a week (if you were not fingerprinted at the time of your interview)
to come to the Ukiah Sheriff’s Office to get fingerprinted. The fee will be $105 cash or check at that time. Our fingerprint office is in Ukiah and open on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday from 8:30 to 10:45 and 1:00
to 4:00. No appointment is required.
- The California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the FBI will send
the Sheriff’s Office clearance notices before anything else can
be done. The wait for clearance letters can take anywhere from 2 weeks
to 6 months. We have no control over how long it takes.
- When we get clearance letters from both DOJ and FBI, your application
goes to the Sheriff for his final approval and signature.
- When the Sheriff signs your CCW permit, it will be mailed to you.